About the Council

The Advisory Council provides guidance and support to OPEN-MSU’s management team. Members consist of a diverse mix of MSU staff and faculty as well as community partners across Michigan. Advisory Council members are invited based on their extensive professional experience with opioid-related issues. OPEN-MSU is lucky to have their expertise to help our program build new partnerships and actively recruit new host sites while maintaining current ones.

Advisory Council Members

MSU Faculty and Staff

Farha Abbasi, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Director, Muslim Mental Health Conference
farha.abbasi@hc.msu.edu

Omayma Alshaarawy, MBBS, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine
ashaara@msu.edu

Kaston Anderson-Carpenter, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology
kason@msu.edu

James (Jim) C. Anthony, PhD
Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
janthony@msu.edu

Jessica Barnes-Najor, PhD
Director for Community Partnerships, OPEN-MSU
Adjunct Faculty, Department of Psychology
barnes33@msu.edu

Kipling Bohnert, PhD
Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
bohnertk@msu.edu

Clifford L. Broman, PhD
Professor, Department of Sociology
broman@msu.edu

Kevin Brooks, MSc, PhD
Director, Program Evaluation and Health Services Research Unit
brooks52@msu.edu

Cheryl Eschbach, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition 
Health and Nutrition Institute Director, Justin S. Morrill Hall of Agriculture
cheryl@msu.edu

Rose Henderson
Program Manager, OPEN-MSU
hende286@msu.edu

Jennifer Johnson, PhD
C.S. Mott Professor Endowed Professor of Public Health
Professor of OBGYN, Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine
jjohns@msu.edu, jennifer.johnson@hc.msu.edu

Lauren Kennedy, PhD
Extension Specialist, Community Behavioral Health, Michigan Substance Use, Prevention, Education, and Recovery (MiSUPER) 
kenne552@msu.edu

Geoffroy Laumet, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology
laumetge@msu.edu

Juli Liebler, PhD
Assistant Director of Virtual Degree Programs
Assistant Professor, School of Criminal Justice
lieblerj@msu.edu

Marvin McKinney
Academic Specialist, Outreach Administration
mckinn23@msu.edu

Kathleen Oberst, RN, PhD
Director, Institute for Health Policy
oberstka@msu.edu

Cara Poland, MD, M.Ed., FACP, DFASAM
Clinical Assistant Professor, Division of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine
Certified Addiction Medicine Specialist
glavinca@msu.edu

Leslie Simons, NP, ANP-BC
Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology
lsimons@msu.edu

Mieka Smart, DrPH
Assistant Professor, College of Human Medicine
Director, Leadership for the Medically Underserved (LMU) Certificate Program
Lecturer, Johns Hopkins University
smartmie@msu.edu

Michelle Snitgen
Assistant Director, Center for Community Engaged Learning (CCEL)
msnitgen@msu.edu

Laurie Van Egeren, PhD
Interim Associate Provost for University Outreach and Engagement
vanegere@msu.edu

Thomas W. Wojciechowski, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Criminal Justice
wojcie42@msu.edu

Community Partners

Ann Cameron
Head Start Director, Inter-Tribal Council of Michigan
ann@itcmi.org

Connie DePlonty
Anishnabek Healing Circle Client Services and Voucher Coordinator, Inter-Tribal Council of Michigan
connied@itcmi.org

Julia Widney Felton, PhD
Doctor, Henry Ford Health Systems
Assistant Professor, Division of Public Health
feltonj2@msu.edu

Christina Pudvan
Substance Use Disorder Prevention Coordinator, Northern Michigan Regional Entity
cpudvan@nmre.org

Linda Vail, MPA
Health Officer, Ingham County Health Department
lvail@ingham.org

OPEN-MSU Logo

About AmeriCorps

AmeriCorps VISTA is a national service program, administered by the Corporation for National and Community Service (CNCS), through which members serve with nonprofit, faith-based, and public agencies for one full year on projects designed to lessen and alleviate poverty.